Why Inspire?

When a crisis hits, you have to dig deep. I tried everything and did absolutely everything to learn to walk again but the one thing that had drastic long term effects on my entire being was yoga. Yoga helped me tap into reserves of inner strength to find new hope, resilience, and happiness. My teachers guided me to recovery, provided me with motivation when times were tough, helped me ‘shut down’ my overactive mind and just relax, taught me how to deal with and manage stress levels, provided me with inner strength and resilience but most of all they INSPIRED me to be the best me that I can be. Like all of my yoga teachers, past and present, I would also like to INSPIRE others.

As I have alluded to in other posts, yoga is more than just poses. In fact, the asanas (poses/postures) comprise just a small part of the overall Eight Limbs of Yoga, as spelled out in the Yoga Sutras and it was through the introduction and exploration of the asanas, pranayama (breath work) and meditation that created the greatest transformations in my life.

The two greatest realisations that I made through the exploration of the asanas, pranayama (breath work) and meditation that have changed my life can be summed up in the following two inspirational quotes:

“When you find peace within yourself, you become the kind of person who can live at peace with others.” ~ Peace Pilgrim

It’s only human to get upset, to get mad, to be sad, stressed out, etc. but there has to be balance. If you stay for too long in these states, they will eventually take over.

If you allow these emotions to take over you, to take over your life, they will eventually control you and you will then be at their mercy. At the mercy of your feelings and emotions, at the mercy of your moods, and the one in charge of your life will no longer be you, but them. Instead the thing in charge of your life and your well being will be your moods, your emotions and your feelings.

Yoga has helped me learn how to work with these emotions to make my life easier, happier, and better. My teachers have taught me how to take time to observe myself, my thoughts and feelings, and to try to understand what it is that really bothers me so much, and choose to do something about it. They have helped me release and relieve stress and have introduced me to strategies that can be used outside the yoga studio. Through this practice I have found greater inner peace and in return feel greater peace with others.

Yoga reminds us that you are the one in control; it’s always up to you. Your happiness and your unhappiness are just choices you make.

Negativity can only feed with negativity; anger can only feed with more anger. When you choose to step back from the dark, things will change for you, and you will find inner peace. Your relationships will improve, you will be happier, and you will find peace. Yoga can guide you to get back to being true to yourself; back to being you.

As a Yoga teacher, I would like to INSPIRE others to guide people back to being in control of themselves instead of letting their moods,  emotions and feelings rule their lives.

“I have been a seeker and I still am, but I stopped asking the books and the stars. I started listening to the teaching of my Soul.” ~ by Rumi

Through yoga and my yoga journey I have started to listen to myself and ask myself ‘What do you really need?’ and when faced with a tough decision ‘What would a person who truly loved themself do?’

Yoga has taught me is that I need to develop the habit of checking in with myself; taking ownership of my thoughts and feelings, trusting my body and my senses, allowing all of my complexity, all of my sensitivity, and all of my uncertainty, owning and aligning with my natural strengths and seeing a set back as a challenge that I can overcome through hard work and patience. In other words, getting more clearly connected to myself!

Yoga has inspired me to eat better, be more active, continue to enjoy my life and travel, be more adventurous, face my fears (except spiders LOL), speak my truth, listen to my intuition, seek out challenges, accept failure as part of the learning process, take care of myself, get out in nature as much as possible, and, most importantly, love myself just the way I am because I am perfect… and in case you weren’t already aware, so are you!

I have a strong desire to contribute to the uplifting of people, circumstances, and even the planet- to INSPIRE people and bring meaning and possibility to where it is P1120962needed. 

May you be WELL

May you be HAPPY

May you be PEACEFUL

May you be LOVED

May you be INSPIRED!

I hope you enjoyed reading my Blog posts so far. Keep on reading my next post to find out more about the mind, body and spirit connection and benefits of yoga.

Love yourself, love your day, love your life!

Natalie

Leave a Reply

