To meditate or not to meditate… that is the question (Part 2)

6ea86cd82fefa8931f07e9c07c2646b1

My struggles with meditation

While as a child (See: To meditate or not to meditate…Part 1) and whilst in hospital I found meditating easy (See: Road to Dhyana), I never really knew that I was doing it- I just did it. So surprisingly, when I was formally introduced to the practice of meditation through my yoga classes I must admit, I found it quite difficult to sit and clear away all my ‘head chatter’ so that I could focus all my energy on being open and present. I used to be able to find a million excuses for not taking even 5 minutes a day to sit and be quiet.

The ray of light through the clouds

That was until I went to a yoga retreat with Antonia Pont who read the following piece while we were meditating which she called sitting. It resonated with me so profoundly that it changed the way I thought and felt about meditating and practicing meditation. I hope you enjoy my condensed version of it and get as much as I did out of this insightful piece of writing:

As quoted in the book The heart of Practice- Understanding yoga from inside written by Orit Sen-Gupta, Uchiyama said that “people are living beings that have a head, and that in this head, thoughts and emotions are running about, arising and disappearing. That’s why it’s totally normal to think while sitting [meditating]. Just like there are secretions of hormones flowing in our organs, one can view thoughts as secretions of the consciousness. It’s just that at times, if we’re not careful, and sometimes even if we are, these secretions influence us and activate us too much.” (p.26).

The book continues to say “The most important thing in the practice of sitting is simply to let go, or relax. When we do this, we can see anything that comes up in our mind as the general landscape of our life.” (p.26).

Uchiyama is then quoted as saying “the deep skies never disturb the white clouds that are flowing in them.” (p.26).

There is no need for the sky to get rid of the clouds and there is no need for you to get rid of or get frustrated by your reoccurring thoughts during meditation. Instead, simply think of your thoughts as fluffy white clouds that gently float in and out of your mind, don’t hold onto them, just notice them and let them glide on by.

What does meditation mean to me now?

Meditation is…

… the transformation of the mind

… feeling fresh and alive

… a state of serenity, peace and clarity

… pleasure minus excitement

… a thrill without anxiety

… love without hatred

… absolute joy and happiness

Mediation is a lifelong gift, something you can call on at any time.

So when asked: Should I try meditating? I say: Why not!

Why not give it a try today?

P1140094

Namaste, Natalie

Leave a Reply

