Mindfulness Moments

Mindfulness

A few years ago I signed up for an online Mindfulness course along with a 2 other courses. Well 2 years later and I have eventually got around to starting the mindfulness course (luckily it doesn’t have a time limit LOL). I thought today would be a good opportunity to share with you what I have learnt so far…

Mindfulness is about taking a step back and being aware of how you’re feeling. It is a method of paying close attention to your thoughts, moods, sensations and emotions in the moment without any judgment.

I love the time I devote each day to myself to pursue peace and calm. Every morning I have a daily routine followed by about an hour of yoga and meditation before starting work. This time is crucial for me to let go of my daily tasks and the running commentary in my head. It is a time for me to check in with myself and see how I am and enables me to set a platform for mindfulness.

Gaining skills in mindfulness might help you become more aware of the world around you, how you feel, the urges you experience, and how to take decisions about these urges. It can also provide a new perspective on negative emotions, feelings and bodily sensations. This, in turn, can give new ways of managing them.

When life get really busy, a sense of peace and just being can become a little lost or sidelined. However having a small array of mindfulness moments can help us maintain a feeling of ease, peace and calm in our daily lives. Below I have put together a few mindfulness moments that I have learnt along the way that you might like to integrate into your life:

Breathe- simply observe each breath as it comes in and out. Don’t try to change or force it, just observe.

Relax muscles- notice the tension that can be held in many areas (especially in the jaw and shoulders) and let it dissolve.

Flow- focus on the present, just doing one thing at a time and enjoy the peace and ease this offers.

Just being- spend a few moments doing nothing, just letting it all go.

All of these activities will calm the mind and body. In these moments we are able to let go, become still, feel peaceful and be mindful.

I believe having a small array of mindfulness moments can help us maintain a feeling of ease, peace and calm in our daily lives. Taking the time to become aware of, appreciate and understand the world around you, how you feel, the urges you experience, and how to take decisions about these urges is a magnificent gift that you can give yourself.

You may already have practised some of these or have your own. If you do have your own, I’d love to hear about them, simply share your mindfulness moments in the comments section of this post.

mindfulness

 

If you are always rushing on to the next moment, what happens to the one that you are in? – Anonymous

Namaste, Natalie

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Mindfulness Moments

Leave a Reply

